Don’t Cry Sweetheart

Jennifer Estes
2 min readSep 13, 2023
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

I hear her call my name from afar. I cross the realm to come to her. She is in the shower, and she is crying. I envelop her in the indigo-blue mist of my being. I whisper gently in her ear…Don’t cry, sweetheart, I am right here..

I am in California, visiting with my parents. I am at the Beaverhead, catching the big ol fish. I am on the most pristine golf course drinking a beer. I am beside you as you need me.

Please also know that I am away right now. I am happy. I am at peace. I am free of pain and sickness.

I will come back for you. When you cross the veil to where I am, know in your heart, soul, and mind that I will be right there waiting for you. Please don’t cry. I know it feels like an eternity being apart, however, it’s but a brief moment in the scheme of things. Take heart. Live while you can in the present. Love those around you. Hug their physical body while you have the chance.

She seems to feel my presence and see my thoughts. Her crying stops as my thoughts become hers. She knows in her mind, that I am away. She knows in her heart that I will be back. She wipes away the tears, comforted for right now.

As she gets out of the shower to start her day, I fade back into the mist of the afterlife. Back to the river where the sun always shines just right, the river has the perfect flow, and the breeze is always perfect. The best river where the fish are plentiful. The fish with the good fight, once caught are still whole and ready for the next time.

--

--

Jennifer Estes

I am a widow, a mortician, a mom, and grandma. I write about grief, caregiving, substance use disorder, and the death care industry.