Luna, The Traveling Kitty Cat!

She is four years old and in that short span, she has stayed in three different Airbnbs, had two stays in a cabin in Big Cottonwood Canyon, gone on a fishing trip to Flaming Gorge, and taken a total of nine road trips.

Jennifer Estes
3 min readAug 23, 2022
Photo by the author, Luna in the motorhome

Luna’s first trip was right after we adopted her. She was only about 8 weeks old and we had a family vacation planned to fly to California, so we sent her to stay with Ann in her cabin up in Big Cottonwood Canyon. Luna enjoyed watching many hummingbirds come to feed in the feeders Ann had spread all over her large porch.

She never showed any fear in the car so when Tom wanted to go fishing, which we did all the time, I said “let’s take Luna!” Our fishing trips were actually floating down the river, Tom in his one-man pontoon boat fishing as he floated, and me in my one-man pontoon boat taking pictures, drinking a beer or wine, and enjoying the sights, and sounds, and smells. I didn’t subject Luna to the float though, we left her in the motorhome while we floated. I was too afraid it would be too much for her.

--

--

Jennifer Estes

I am a widow, a mortician, a mom, and grandma. I write about grief, caregiving, substance use disorder, and the death care industry.