When It Rains, It Pours

Jennifer Estes
4 min readAug 2, 2022
Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

When it rains, it pours. I know this all too well, unfortunately, and right now, it's a hell of a downpour!

I am at my kitchen table working. It's been a busy day with phone calls from clinicians with tech issues. My cat Luna is making a game of running in and out of the house, trying to engage me in play.

My cell phone rings; it's the mechanic calling to give me the scoop on what's wrong with my car. In my rush to place my work phone on "away from desk" status, send a slack message to my team that I'll be right back, and answer my cell phone, I don't realize Luna is standing behind me.

I listen intently as the mechanic explains the cost or rather tries to justify the astronomical amount it will cost to fix. I step back in front of my computer to ensure the phone is set to "away from desk" and that my slack message was sent. I don't realize I've stepped on Luna, and she is screaming in a yowl of pain until I feel the claws cut into my ankle and the pain as her teeth break the skin.

I hang up the phone and hobble outside to find her, blood trickling down both sides of my right ankle and pooling in my furry slipper. I find her under the lawn chair licking her leg. I crouch down and tell her how sorry I am before heading back inside to examine my wounds.

--

--

Jennifer Estes

I am a widow, a mortician, a mom, and grandma. I write about grief, caregiving, substance use disorder, and the death care industry.